As a total noob at all things to do with jailbreaking, I'd like to ask a few questions.

1.My iPhone 3GS is on 4.0.2 firmware. Can I downgrade this to a firmware that is jailbreakable?

2.Is it risky?

3.Would it be wiser for me to wait for a new jailbreak for 4.0.2?

4.If a jailbreak fails is the phone f**ked or can the old firmware be restored somehow?

Thanks in advance!
    2010-09-07 03:14 PM
    If you have saved shsh files on previous firmwares then yes u can downgrade really easy...if u haven't then just wait for 4.1
    2010-09-07 03:22 PM
    What are SHSH files and are they saved automatically by my phone or od I have to save them somehow.

I said I was a noob hehe
    2010-09-07 04:19 PM
    You have allot of reading to do, here is a good place to start. Apple, iPhone, iPad and iPod Guides | ModMyi.com
    This post infers no rights and is provided as is.

Click here to follow me on twitter
    2010-09-07 04:30 PM
    This is also a good read on downgrading. Written by the creator of Cydia. Caching Apple's Signature Server - Jay Freeman (saurik)
    We're all just toymakers in the game of life.
    2010-09-07 07:14 PM
    Thanks guys, I'll give them a read.

P.s How long approximately will it be before a jailbreak for 4.0.2 iphones is available?
    2010-09-07 08:21 PM
    There will not be a jb for 4.0.2 there will be a jb for 4.1 most likely. 4.1 drops tomorrow so we may see a jb in the following weeks.
    This post infers no rights and is provided as is.

Click here to follow me on twitter
    2010-09-07 08:36 PM
    Just read this

As I want to jailbreak my phone, should I upgrade to 4.1 or leave it at 4.0.2?
    Last edited by twalsh; 2010-09-08 at 05:00 PM.
    2010-09-08 01:31 PM
    As a total noob at all things to do with jailbreaking, I'd like to ask a few questions.

1.My iPhone 3GS is on 4.0.2 firmware. Can I downgrade this to a firmware that is jailbreakable?

2.Is it risky?

3.Would it be wiser for me to wait for a new jailbreak for 4.0.2?