• Apple Expands CarPlay Functionality to Five New Countries

    In a recent update to its iOS 8 Feature Availability webpage, Apple announced the rollout of CarPlay services to five new countries including Denmark, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Russia and Sweden. Users in the countries can now connect their iPhones to compatible infotainment systems and aftermarket head units. They will have access to full CarPlay functionality, including Apple Maps and a standalone launcher for Audiobooks.

    The change appears to come one week after Apple added Brazil, China, India, Thailand and Turkey to the list of cities that support CarPlay functionality. Unlike the recent update, only China was granted access to in-the-car Apple Maps. As of today, Apple’s webpage still shows a lack of CarPlay mapping capabilities in the five other countries but this is likely to change when the page is next updated.

    For those of you who didn’t know, CarPlay made its debut in March of 2014 as Apple’s official in-car connectivity initiative though enthusiasm from the automotive industry was muted. A year later, Apple seems to have expanded its service to 25 countries and garnered support from all major car manufacturers, which collectively plan to integrate CarPlay into 40 new cars for the 2015 model year.

    We’ll have to wait and see what moves are made next.

    Source: Apple
    This article was originally published in forum thread: Apple Expands CarPlay Functionality to Five New Countries started by Akshay Masand View original post
  • Connect With Us

  • Twitter Box

  • Facebook