hi all, i am sorry if this question or problem has been asked before, i am new to this so please bare with me ok. i have an iphone 3g, version 2.2, i jail broke my iphone 3g a few months ago with no problems, i would like to upgrade to the new 3.0 os but i dont know what to do! do i have to restore my iphone3g via itunes then upgrade the software 3.0? but is there a reliable way of jailbreaking the 3.0 software? or should i just keep my phone the way it is. i have read lots of horror stories and as i am not very technical, dont want to turn my beloved iphone 3g into a brick! please guys any help that you could give me would be great, step by step instructions would also help. thanks.
    2009-07-18 06:05 PM
    Welcome to MMi
    No worries, pretty simply process and you will not turn your iPhone into a brick. Since I don't know whether you have a Mac or PC. Follow this link to a tree type menu. Just follow along to what applies and then click.
    If for some reason you have a problem you can always restore in iTunes.
    Update your iTunes to ver. 8.2 and then update your phone to 3.0.
    Jailbreak and Bobs your uncle. Pretty easy.
    2009-07-18 06:20 PM
    thank you for the information! i have another question, is there anywhere that i can save/store all the apps that i have in use from cydia before i do upgrade? thanks again.
    2009-07-18 06:54 PM
    In Cydia there is an app called "Aptbackup" that will aide you in restoring 3rd party apps. I would make a list of what you have installed also.
    2009-07-18 07:00 PM
    thank you! thank you! thank you! i will give it a go tomorrow, oh god i hope it works! lol....
    2009-07-18 07:08 PM
    and there is an app called PkgBackUp. It allows you to backup your packages and even share/exchange/send your package list to others.
    2009-07-18 07:09 PM