Hey guys I am new to all of this but have done some reading and know pretty much what needs to be done but I do have some questions I havent been able to get anwsered.

The first thing I want to do is get my iBSS and iBEC file and from what I read I can get these by putting my phone in DFU mode and restoring. I have one question about this, I have read that sometimes iTunes will give you a 16xx error and from what I read you can use Redsnow to "hacktivate" the iPhone to get past this. This may be totaly wrong I am not sure. What is the chance of such a error happening.

The reason I am asking about this is I also read that if you hacktivate the iphone you lose push ablities from apple. Will this affect me if I have to hacktivate or is no since the phone was initialy activated the proper way?

The second question is my phone is using 3.0.1 and I was told to get the iBSS and iBEC file i need itunes 8.2.0 not 8.2.1 which is what I got. Where can I get this version of itunes?

Thanks guy sorry if my questions were a bit stupid just dont want to do something without understanding the process and any pitfalls that may occure.
    Last edited by Leviathan3328; 2009-08-26 at 01:30 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
    2009-08-26 01:30 AM
    I was under the impression redsn0w only worked for v3.00 not v3.01
    as for your other questions, sorry, I can not provide the answers you need. =[
    Previous Phone: AT&T Tilt
    Rom:Phoenix3 Win6.5 -Also Running Android 1.5-
    Radio:1.71.xx.x

Carrier: AT&T
    2009-08-26 06:03 PM
    Hey thanks for the reply. I managed to figgure it all out so its all good. To anwser your question while I havent done it yet I a am pretty sure (99%) sure it does work. The files that need to be jailbroken were not touched by 3.0.1 so the jailbreak works.