hi all, hope for some help here.

I bought a 3gs 32gb on 02 payg , and had it unlocked at a local phone unlocking shop for my Orange contract simcard. Which worked fine. then like a complete idiot, i allowed itunes to upgrade to the 3.1 software (i know i know)!!!

Now my phone is locked again. booo.

im running itunes 9, and windows Vista.

complete newbie to all this redsn0w stuff (dont want to mess aroud with it and totally screw up my iphone for good), untill i know whats what. Not sure what method the shop used to unlock my phone, but I did notice i had Cydia on my phone after it was unlocked, but now its nolonger there. help, i really want my phone back!!! thanks Glenn.
    2009-09-20 06:27 PM
    mh ... I'm afraid I only have bad news.
    as of now, when you upgraded to 3.1 your phone is permanently locked. it could be that a new unlock is developed that works for new firmwares, but it could also be that your phone is locked forever. sorry :-(
    2009-09-20 08:02 PM
    whats the timescale for a new firmware unlock release and where should i look for it? really dont want to have wasted 500 !!
    2009-09-20 08:17 PM
    whats the timescale for a new firmware unlock release and where should i look for it? really dont want to have wasted 500 !!
    noone can't say. it could be that there will never be a new unlock, which would leave your phone permanently locked.
    it could be weeks, it could be years ... I really can't say, it all depends on whether or not the dev team finds a hole in one of the new basebands that allows them to unlock it.

sorry I don't have better news, I can imagine this sucks.
    2009-09-20 08:43 PM
    wait, isn't it possible to restore to 3.0 or 2.2.1?
    2009-09-20 09:50 PM