Hey guys I'm new to the iPhone jailbreak world and I have come to notice I am consistently 10mb or below in free memory I have just installed free memory and while it works soon as I go to another app its right back to 10 and below. Should I list all the cydia apps I'm using for better trouble shooting? I love my mods but clearly I am having a conflict of sorts. Thanks I am on 4.1 with a 3G
    2010-10-19 06:35 PM
    Not too sure what the normal amount of free memory for a 3G is on 4.1, but it sounds pretty normal for a 3G to me.
    2010-10-19 06:45 PM
    hmm ok.. i see some people say that get 50 + so im just making sure.. seems like i get a lag in some games and when im dowloading cydia or other places it seems to drop to like 4-6mb

is there anything file wise i neeed to tweak? anything i should remove to help speed my iphone up.. im just trying to master the perfect setup so i can work on my wifes phone next
    2010-10-19 07:16 PM
    Not sure. All I know is 4.0 and up are pretty laggy on a 3G even without being jailbroken, so that just adds to it.
    2010-10-19 07:22 PM
    How much memory do you have with no apps open? Back on my 3G, I had about ~48 MB of free space.

If you really want to speed up your phone, remove Winterboard and keep the number of installed springboard tweaks to a minimum. You can also try deleting unused language packs and daemons (I know there's a couple of posts on this forum about it); I did this but couldn't tell the difference, but that could've been just me. If you remove winterboard, you can install BossPaper for custom wallpaper so you're phone doesn't look so boring; BossPaper has way better performance management and won't run in the background while you're using apps.

Do you have multitasking, homescreen wallpaper and all the special iOS4 features enabled? This will also cause your phone to slow down.
    2010-10-19 11:49 PM