User Tag List

I'm new to Jailbreaking and just want to make sure I get this straight first.

My only goal is to JB my 3G so I can use iPhone Explorer and get into the var/Mobile/Library/SMS folder so I can paste my Text Messages into my phone that I have saved on my PC from my other iPhone which is a 3GS on the newest version 4.3.3.

Then unjailbreak? so that I can make a backup that I can later use to sucessfully restore whenever I purchase a new iPhone so I keep everything in tact. I may keep it JB for a while to play around, but eventually I want to be able to make a clean restore to my new iPhone so I can keep all of my contacts/text messages etc.

This 3G is currently:
    Version: 4.2.1(8C148)
    Modem FW: 05.15.04

To my understanding, I need to:
    1. Download stock 4.2.1 ipsw and Redsn0w 0.9.6rc8 - (iTunes is updated)
    2. Open iTunes, hold shift and click restore. Browse to the ipsw I downloaded
    3. When finished, open Redsn0w
    4. Browse to 4.2.1 in redsn0w
    5. Select Cydia and follow on-screen prompts to DFU mode
    6. After redsn0w finishes I should be able to access my springboard.
    7. Then I can use iPhone Exlporer to make my changes to the phones files.

Then how do I un-Jailbreak the phone so that I can make a legitamate backup for the next iPhone that I get which will not be Jailbroke obviously.

Also, I read on another post something about doing these steps after the phone is JB. Is this necessary?

7. Run Redsn0w and boot tethered only.
    8. Open Cydia and let it reorganize.
    9. Open Cydia again and at least update essentials
    10. If phone reboots, run redsn0w to boot tethered again.

Thanks for the help!
    2011-05-18 07:07 PM
    I'll you will have to do is simply hit restore in iTunes to get unjailbroken
    2011-05-18 08:08 PM
    The boot tethered steps aren't necessary. The wording in those steps look oddly like something I would say lol.