Hi,

I'm kind of new to this all, so forgive me if I sound dumb. I've done a lot of reading on here, trying to figure out what's best for me to do.

So, I successfully jailbroke my iPhone 3Gs with Redsn0w 0.9.6rc16, and unlocked it with Ultrasn0w. I'm running iOs 4.2.1 and I had to upgrade to the iPad baseband. I'm running on T-mobile. So, far, everything works great, really. The only problem is, I have I have to boot tethered with Redsn0w. I'm not sure if that's something I did wrong or what. As far as I know, it didn't do that untill I ran Ultrasn0w. It's not really a big issue, but It'd be nice to know that if my phone got turned off, I could turn it back on again without being at a computer. Everything works great though, other than that, so I'm torn between "don't fix what isn't broken" and "mess with it untill it's perfect."

I see there's a new version of Redsn0w out, but I'm not sure if there's something special I have to do to use the new version other than just...running it. Any advice will be much appreciated.
    2011-05-25 04:05 AM
    Unless I've lost my mind, iOS 4.2.1 is an untethered jailbreak, but I don't know if that version of redsn0w (which is made for iOS 4.3.x) will provide the untether.

I do know greenpois0n RC6.1 (greenpois0n.com) will untether you, and should be okay to run on top of your existing jailbreak (key word "should," but I'd recommend restoring and re-jailbreaking with greenpois0n personally).

EDIT: It looks like the greenpois0n.com front page is down.

Windows direct download: http://cache.greenpois0n.com/dl/gp_win_rc6.1.zip
    Mac: http://cache.greenpois0n.com/dl/gp_mac_rc6_1.zip
    Last edited by Orby; 2011-05-25 at 04:26 AM.
    2011-05-25 04:20 AM