Hi everyone, I am new here and I am new to this technology.My problem is that I live in the Caribbean,Barbados to be exact, and as a result, I can't seem access the itunes store, I probably could if I was in Jamacia. Further more, I had an iPhone previous to this one and itunes killed it when I tried downloading. Fortunately, I was given a new one in its place! As a result I am very apprehensive about syncing with itunes,even if I could access the store apps!

Also, I'm sure my iPhone is unlocked because I put my DIGICELL Sim in it and it works fine. I am not currently on line with it yet either.Which I hope to set it up soon.

I would love to access the apps for it and listen to music and so on.Right now its just a phone.

I read about Cydia software and would love to be free from itunes,so that I can easily get some apps for my phone!!!!
    But I don't think I need to jailbreak,but not sure. So how can I get Cydia software on my phone otherwise? What can I do to access apps without going through itunes?????

Thanks.
    2011-05-15 07:54 PM
    Jailbreaking will get you Cydia, a third party type store/download station; however, we can't help you to use jailbreaking to get app store apps. This is piracy. And although you cannot access the app store, which I don't see why not (need somebody to explain this part to me), obtaining app store apps elsewhere besides the app store or iTunes is considered piracy.

So I can help you jb your phone but I can't help you try to get app store apps. You can access Cydia all you like though.

You'll need to download greenpois0n from greenpois0n.com on your computer and use that to jb your phone.

It'll ask you to put your phone in dfu mode. Simply follow the timer in the program to do so. When successfully on dfu mode, do not let go of the home button, keep holding it. Click jailbreak, keep holding the home button.

You'll see codes come up on your screen. Don't let go of the home button until the codes are gone.