User Tag List

I have tried all the sms programs out there, BiteSMS, MySMS, and my personal favorite iRealSMS. The only problem with iRealSMS is that it does not hook into winterboard. So you cannot use your keyboard, key click sounds, or apply a cool png file behind your speech bubbles. Now I pretty much only type in landscape mode, so it is important for me to be able to use iRealSMS. And if you are anything like me, this is the only app in your entire phone that is not customized in some way.

I am going to show you how to partially theme this app. Please keep in mind that I am not a graphic artist in anyway. That is why this is only partially themed. If you are a graphic artist and would like to tinker with iRealSMS to allow full themes to be applied, please do. I would really like to use my Storm clicks and Chromium Keyboard, not to mention make all the status bars black, or any other color scheme to match my phone. I know from doing the research that A LOT of people want to theme this app, you would be a hero, kind of.

What you need to do is install iRealSMS from Cydia, then go to iFortnerForums.com and sign up. Under written tutorials, you can find a working serial code to activate the app instead of paying for it. If you have done all this then pay no mind. Or if you paid for the app, too bad for you!

SSH the app out of your phone, inside the folder ‘irealsms.app’ there are four files you can swap out to customize the look of your texts. I tried to change other files and they did not seem to work. The files you can change are:

· Balloon_1.png

· Balloon_2.png

· background_conversation.png

· background_SMSfolders.png

The Balloon files are the actual “bubbles” your text will appear in. Make sure that the two bubbles themselves are facing in opposite direction, as they would appear in the actual text message.

The background_conversation file is the picture that will appear behind your “bubbles” in the actual text message.