Yes, I'm a noob on this forum but I've read topics from all 9 pages of this section, and done lots of other research for what I thought was something simple and there just seems to be no good way to go about it. So if anybody would like to show off their vast knowledge about the iPhone, this thread should be perfect.

I commonly download AVI files of complete movies; most (if not 99.9%) are in the DIVX AVI format. These can be played on my computer, and even on most DVD players (even the cheap $40 ones nowadays), but not on the iPhone for some mystical reason.

I'm looking for a solution to simply play these videos on my iPhone easily; but furthermore have them be at the correct resolution to show up on TV decently as well (480i or roughly 640x480 pixels). Video converter software doesn't seem to be the answer for two reasons: A. it takes a good 3+ hours on a dual core PC with 4GB of ram to process a 90 minute movie, and B. they want to be formatted to the iPhones' screen size which is much smaller than even an old school tube TV so that's not going to work.

I've tried VTC4iPhone (won't play in landscape mode; useless), dTunes (seems to only be for streaming), and a couple others from Cydia that wouldn't sync the sound properly, stretched the image, or didn't play at all (a lot had sound only).

Can anybody help me out with a solution that doesn't involve 3+ hours per movie of process time to only get an inferior grade movie? I absolutely love my iPhone to death; first Mac product I've ever unqestionably loved; but this bottleneck seems archaic to me with AVI being the format of choice for movies anymore.

A bonus question if you will: I've seen the component out plugs for the iPhone for $50 and through research have seen that nothing much works like the cables from DealExtreme.com since the authentication chip doesn't with with 3.0.1 or 3.0. But has anybody seen cables that are just the red/white/yellow so I can hook this up to a TV without component hook-ups?