Hello all, im a bit new to this.. but ive finally figured out the basics of jailbreaking. Ive jailbroken my wifes ipod touch 1st gen thats currently running 2.2.1.

My question is this, ive seen alot of cool programs and such on Cydia that only support 3.0+ versions. I wouldnt mind upgrading, but I wanted to ask the gurus here if there are any reasons I should not upgrade from 2.2.1 to a 3.0+ version? Are their known issues with ipod touch first gens?

Finally, should I choose to upgrade to the 3.0+ version, how would I go about getting it? I dont mind purchasing the upgrade from Itunes, but Id rather have 3.1.2 instead of 3.1.3. Are their illegitmate means of getting the newer upgrades?

Again thanks for all the help, ive found alot of answers and have learned alot from the plethora of posts here. (I made sure to give thanks to anyone that helped, even if they were originally helping someone else.)

Thanks in advance,
    An Ipod Fanatic.
    2010-04-26 03:44 AM
    Well you can jailbreak the iPod touch 1st generation using 3.1.3. It is very simple. You just have to use redsn0w 0.9.4 and you can get firmware From iTunes. Pm me if you have more questions
    2010-04-26 03:48 AM
    So there isnt a means to get the latest firmware aside from purchasing it from apple?
    2010-04-26 04:34 AM
    Yes just go to felixbruns.de
    2010-04-26 03:14 PM
    Alright.. I got a copy og the 3.1.2 firmware, and have placed it in the appropiate folder for windows 7.

Ive loaded up itunes and have clicked the restore button with the shift-click on restore, and pointed it to the new firmware I downloaded.

It goes through the process and when its done I get an error message that something along the lines:

"Could not restore ipod, error 10"

I've done a search on the site here for threads about the same error and have found a plethora of threads about other errors but not that specific one.

Did I miss a step or something?