Now that 2.0 is unlocked, can't we use the SDK to make inofficial apps. I just compiled one and copied it to the iPhone, but it just crashed...
    2008-07-21 09:54 PM
    I'm no expert on these matters, but I'm giong to have to say no.

As nice as that would be, I would think that when the SDK compiles it, if no certificate exists, it won't run.
    If you like or found helpful anything I have said, please click that nice little Thanks button!
    2008-07-21 10:42 PM
    Yes you can. You need to install something called 'Link indenty editor' in cydia. It gives you a 'ldid' command. All you have to do is ssh into your iPhone and:-

ldid -S /Applications/MyApp.app/MyApp

Then it'll work. I tried it last night on one of the Apple SDK example programs.
    2008-07-22 02:23 PM
    hmm, interesting. I wonder if there is a way to automate that so when you run a program made in SDK from the springboard, it'll run ldid instead of the program and so the program will run properly.
    If you like or found helpful anything I have said, please click that nice little Thanks button!
    2008-07-22 04:17 PM
    2008-07-22 09:30 PM
    ldid -S /Applications/MyApp.app/MyApp
    Awesome. Thanks.
    2008-07-22 11:54 PM
    I just read this article Erica posted tonight about Ad-Hoc delivery of unsigned apps. Is this possible for ppl like Nullriver to just create Summerboard on the SDK and deliver it as she descsribes in the article?

Form her post:
    Ad-Hoc and the Washington Post
    Posted Jul 23rd 2008 10:00PM by Erica Sadun
    Filed under: iPod Family, iPhone, App Store, SDK

This Washington Post article, suggesting that a beta arrangement for App Store developers is right around the corner, just hit the Digg front page. TUAW wants to clarify a few points raised in that article:

The so-called "Beta Program" refers to ad-hoc distribution. This was announced at the SDK keynote and is not a secret. It's a method to distribute apps outside of App Store channels.