1. Akshay Masand's Avatar

    It was reported back in 2012 that Apple was hiring engineers to help add a number of languages that were not yet supported by Siri. The languages included Finnish, Norwegian, Arabic, Danish, Dutch, and Swedish. The company has recently added job listings for three more languages including Thai, Russian, and Brazilian Portuguese. Apple also recently posted more job listings for languages they were hiring for back in 2012.

    Apple has yet to announce any new languages for Siri in the upcoming iOS 8 when it was first introduced earlier in the month. However, it is possible that more languages will be added as the new device is set to release in the fall. As of right now, Siri supports the following languages:

    • United States (English, Spanish)
    • United Kingdom (English)
    • Australia (English)
    • France (French)
    • Germany (German)
    • Japan (Japanese)
    • Canada (English, Canadian French)
    • China (Mandarin)
    • Hong Kong (Cantonese)
    • Italy (Italian)
    • Korea (Korean)
    • Mexico (Spanish)
    • Spain (Spanish)
    • Switzerland (Italian, French, German)
    • Taiwan (Mandarin)
    Apple is set to release 24 new languages to the dictation feature in the upcoming iOS 8 and OS X Yosemite. The languages include Swedish, Norwegian, Thai, Russian, Portuguese and other languages Apple has posted listings in hiring.

    Source: Apple

    Twitter: @AkshayMasand
    2014-06-24 05:28 AM