Hello everyone,

I just bought a MBP last week. I love this machine, however I will be needing more HD space sooner than I thought. This is my first Mac, so I am still a certifiable noob. I do learn quick though, LOL.

I was browsing around the web doing some research earlier, and now I have a few questions. I have the standard 13 inch 2.4 250 HD [email protected] Is it possible to upgrade to a 500gb HD @7200, or is that not recomended?

My main goal is to achieve as much HD space on the machine as possible. If I can increase speed and functionality of the machine then great, but if not I am not to terribly concerned.

FYI, I am using a 1T external for time machine, but am more interested in space on the actual machine as I am a national sales manager, and I attend college full time. Between my job, school, and the traveling I do, I would prefer to have the space on the machine vs traveling with the external.

I should of upgraded the machine at time of purchase, but I figured I could make the changes on my own, for a much more economical price. At least that is what I am hoping.

Thanks for any help guys,
    Tom
    2010-11-20 03:01 AM
    Yes, you can upgrade to a 500 GB drive, but you will need to purchase it elsewhere.
    Asking for help is different from being stupid. Fanboys can rot in @#$%!
    2010-11-20 04:02 AM
    newegg would be the best options they usally have some really good deals there get the momentous xt drive i think thats what is is it has 4 gig ssd as a cache i think and 500 gig's 7200rpm i think its supposed to be 1 of the fastest drives you can get
    2010-11-29 08:42 AM
    I upgraded my pro 15" 2010 with a 1tb western digital hd. Fitted myself restored via time machine and works like a treat! Was only about 100 bucks for the hd too!
    2011-01-24 03:30 PM