hey everyone. i'm new to both the iPhone and the jailbreaking scene.

got an iPhone 3G last month and have been waiting for the Pwnage tools to hit the seen

since i have no prior experience with some of the jailbreak apps that many of you have been using since original iPhone via cydia and installer....my question to you guys is......is it worth it to jailbreak my iPhone for these apps?

with the advent of the AppStore, i wonder how necessary having homebrew is. also, is there a huge risk in jailbreaking? it seems from these forums that many people are having problems with their phone after jailbreaking

and finally, do you guys have some favorite programs on cydia or installer that you love that will most likely never appear on the official AppStore?

THANK YOU GUYS!!
    2008-08-11 06:36 PM
    The primary reason you would want to jailbreak with 2.0 is if you wish to have/use themes on your iPhone. Other than that I use all 2.0 Apps and don't miss any of the 1.1.4 apps.
    Get "iPod & iTunes for Dummies", it'll change your life.
    2008-08-11 06:43 PM
    themes? that's it???

why is everyone so jailbreak crazy then if all the worth is mainly involving custom themes?

everyone want customized icons and menu bar headers THAT badly?
    2008-08-11 06:46 PM
    themes? that's it???

why is everyone so jailbreak crazy then if all the worth is mainly involving custom themes?

everyone want customized icons and menu bar headers THAT badly?
    Yes. Nothing better than individualizing YOUR phone the way YOU want it.
    2008-08-11 06:54 PM
    so there aren't any cool apps aside from customize that makes jailbreaking worth it?

also, what can you customize aside from themes and icon? the more detail the better since i have never jailbroken

thanks!
    2008-08-11 06:59 PM
    Any type of customizing, including file mods, require jailbreaking so you can write to the root partition.
    Get "iPod & iTunes for Dummies", it'll change your life.
    2008-08-11 07:11 PM