The easiest way EVER on for windows user to upgrade to 2.1!!
    It worked for me!

From firmware 2.0.2 it works.

STEP 1.
    Download and unzip this custom firmware (Cydia+Installer included):

iPhone 2G firmware 2.1 Clean (Pwnage) (download torrent) - TPB

STEP 2.

Start your iPhone in DMF mode

(Howto: How To Put The iPhone Into DFU Mode)

STEP 3.

Open iTunes and wait for it to tell you that its in restore mode.

STEP 4.

Hold down the SHIFT key and click on RESTORE!

STEP 5.

Browse for the customized firmware.

STEP 6.

Enjoy

Bro's, there can't be any easier way!
    2008-09-16 12:26 AM
    what itunes are you using: 7.7 or 8? Are you having problems with backup? Does the custom firmware you posted unlock and jailbrek or does it just jailbreak? will I keep my cydia apps?........I know they're a lot of questions it's just that i'm a bit of a noob on a pwned(unlocked a jb) 2.0.2 and am worried about losing my cydia apps.

Thanks!
    2008-09-16 12:50 AM
    y do you have to put the phone in dfu mode ? .. i did it w/o dfu mode .. does it matter ?
    2008-09-16 05:53 AM
    I wouldn't trust a one poster. It needs to be confirmed by a regular in my opinion.
    2008-09-16 05:58 AM
    DFU mode will wipe everything including system files making sure nothing gets left behind to screw anything up. (just don't restore from a backup later to be safe if you run into problems.)

Can you confirm this works bro....I didn't want to take word from someone thats only posted one thing...THIS.
    Last edited by stlcaddie; 2008-09-16 at 06:02 AM.
    2008-09-16 05:58 AM
    there seems to be some good feedback on the torrent site of others who have done it

ive tried it and keep getting errors, but it could be my fault
    Last edited by AboveTheLogic; 2008-09-16 at 06:40 AM.
    2008-09-16 06:13 AM
    there seems to be some good feedback on the torrent site of others who have done it

ive tried it and keep getting errors, but it could be my fault