1. ncvaun's Avatar
    I just upgraded my 1st Gen iPhone 2G phone today. I was running FW 2.2.1 on T-Mobile (obviously it was JB and unlocked). The weird thing was after I did a complete erase of all content on my iPhone. I booted into DFM mode so I could load the original FW 3.0 onto it. Once iTunes was done upgrading my phone, my service indicator said T-Mobile? (BTW, I left my SIM card in the phone during this entire process).

    I thought this was really odd considering my phone was originally unlocked with yellowsn0w (which i believe is a software unlock, not hardware). So I went forward still and loaded FW 3.0 using redsn0w 0.8. Also, during the JB I did NOT select the option to Unlock. After all was done, my phone rebooted and it was JB and unlocked, still?

    Has anyone else noticed this?
    2009-07-18 06:38 AM
  2. Decon Meiou's Avatar
    What you are seeing is boot neuter do its thing. You pretty much remain unlocked as a 2g user even after a full restore.

    In short, all you really need to really worry about is hacktivating at a 2g user.
    2009-07-18 10:44 AM
  3. ncvaun's Avatar
    ahhh.... thanks for the information. Im a noob at this.
    2009-07-18 05:50 PM
  4. l1ceo1l's Avatar
    yep. they dont update the baseband on the 2G anymore (2 cents)
    2009-07-18 07:35 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD