1. bloo's Avatar
    after getting frequent freezes, crashes, etc. i decided to restore my iphone to 1.0.2.

    i held down the home and sleep button until the "please connect to itunes" message popped up. when i tried to restore to 1.0.2 following http://modmyi.com/wiki/index.php/IPh...ck_OS_X_Part_1 i get an unknown error mesage (6), stating that the iphone cant be restored.

    i read that other people with this error message brought it in and got it replaced.

    i have 2 questions.

    if i bring in my iphone to the store, will they be able to check to see if i had 3rd party apps installed, or have i effectively wiped the hard drive of the iphone clean, leaving no evidence of 3rd party apps.

    second question is since i cant update to 1.0.2, should i try to update to 1.1.1, then downgrade to 1.0.2? or will upgrading to 1.1.1 brick my iphone.
    2007-10-15 10:11 PM
  2. JedixJarf's Avatar
    2007-10-15 10:14 PM
  3. bloo's Avatar
    well, what im worried about is if there is any residual information left on my iphone from before i held the home + sleep button for 25 seconds.
    2007-10-15 10:17 PM
  4. JedixJarf's Avatar
    Yes.

    holding the buttons down wont erase a thing. It just puts it in restore mode.
    Last edited by JedixJarf; 2007-10-15 at 10:19 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
    2007-10-15 10:19 PM
  5. bloo's Avatar
    so you recommend trying to upgrade to 1.1.1 and then downgrading to 1.0.2?

    but will upgrading brick my iphone since you just said that there IS residual information like 3rd party apps on my iphone?
    2007-10-15 10:23 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD