User Tag List

I have got me a new 3Gs,got the contract with at&t.Is there an upside to unlocking my iphone?Is it cheaper rates with tmobile?Is there different data plans that icould get that would be cheper?or should i just stay under contracy with at&t?I am new to unlocking a cell phone so just wanted to ask a couple questions.
    2010-03-14 10:21 PM
    There are quite a few perks to unlocking your iPhone to T-Mobile.

-1st is the price (I consider the most important)
    In my case, I pay a grand total, after tax and surcharges, of $70 and some change every month.
    This includes: 1000 mins a month (common promo shows up occasionally)
    Unlimited txt/pic messaging
    Unlimited mobile internet (Edge :-/)

And again this is all for a total of nearly exactly $70 a month. Having this same plane with AT&T will put you over the $100 a month mark easily. That and the fact that you are forced to keep the $30 a month Data/Web plan for the life of your phone with them makes them a bad choice in my opinion.

So biggest factor: can you live without the speed of 3G internet?

Personally, Edge works fine with me, I have wireless access at home, at work, and at school so im always connected.
    2010-03-14 11:31 PM
    so if i wanted to go the tmobile route,how hard would it be to get out of my contract with at&t?i have had the phone only for a couple of weeks.Is it possible to get out of the contract?How much would they penalize me?Could i get a tmobile pay as you go plan for the iphone?
    2010-03-15 02:06 AM
    In order to "get out" of the contract you would be charged for that. I believe its $175 for AT&T, from what I have read is you need to have a month of service with AT&T before canceling, if you cancel early they will charge you full cost for the iPhone. You can get a pay as you go plan with the iPhone with T-Mobile.
    If I helped you hit the "Thanks"!
    2010-03-15 02:48 AM