ok, I jailbroke my iTouch fine but I'm still a newb with this stuff.

A friend of mine is getting the new iPhone and says he'll give me his old 2G.

The question is, what can I do with it? I have Verizon service right now. Can I jailbreak and unlock his 2G and use it with my Verizon service?

I have unlimited data on my plan, will I be able to surf the web?

The details of how can come later, right now I just want to know what's possible to do.
    All that Evil needs to succeed is for Good to do nothing
    2010-06-12 01:11 AM
    Nope, can't use it for Verizon, it's a cdma network. You could use it with T-Mobile in the States.
    2010-06-12 01:17 AM
    could I use it as basically an upgrade to my iTouch?
    2010-06-12 01:30 AM
    Your touch is more powerful than the 2G phone That would be taking a step backwards.
    2010-06-12 01:56 AM
    really?? my 1st Gen 8mb iTouch is more powerful?
    2010-06-12 02:06 AM
    Your touch is more powerful than the 2G phone That would be taking a step backwards.
    Captain Chaos, you are scaring her away from the Iphone 2G, I think the 1st Gen Ipod Touch and the 1st Gen Iphone which is also called the 2G has the same processor and same 128 mb of RAM. They both perform the same in performance wise...

really?? my 1st Gen 8mb iTouch is more powerful?
    You can unlock it an use on T-mobile prepaid or when you go overseas, you can pop in any GSM card to use locally there. Verizon phone uses CDMA which is the older Technology and is long gone in Asia because of the vulnerability of having the line being used by another person. ..enjoy your new Iphone (eventhough it is a 2G and is free, why not) , by the way if you don't want it, you can mail it to me...hehe..
    Last edited by iYeow; 2010-06-12 at 05:39 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
    2010-06-12 05:39 AM
    Sorry I was on my mobile phone and it doesn't show that she has the 1st gen. I didn't know people still had those
    2010-06-12 06:52 AM