Hey guys,

I'm totally new to the whole iPhone hacking world. I'm trying to modify everything and pretty much every tutorial I see, the people are using Windows SCP to function, so I downloaded it, but I can't get past the login screen, and I'm not sure I understand it. Can anyone give me a rundown of this? I'd appreciate it!

Becky
    2009-02-28 04:47 AM
    have you installed openSSH? Found in cydia
    Host name = your iPhones ip address
    Username: root
    Password: alpine
    port: 22

http://modmyi.com/wiki/index.php/SSH_on_Windows

oh and Welcome to MMi
    2009-02-28 04:56 AM
    Well, I found that, and have been working with it- I entered all of the information you put in here, but it keeps telling me that the connection has timed out.
    2009-02-28 05:14 AM
    if its winscp just wait. dont hit the abort button. let it keep going. then a window will pop up about the token key or something and hit yes...then youll be fine.
    The beatings will continue until morale improves.
    2009-02-28 05:19 AM
    Im having the same problem but it just keeps timing out. It might be that I cant find BSD in installer! I dont even know where to begin since its not in cydia or installer
    2009-02-28 05:31 AM
    Im having the same problem but it just keeps timing out. It might be that I cant find BSD in installer! I dont even know where to begin since its not in cydia or installer
    Are you really still on 1.1.4
    BSD subsystems in in installer

Well, I found that, and have been working with it- I entered all of the information you put in here, but it keeps telling me that the connection has timed out.
    Try this
    type your iPhone IP address.

Don't fill in anything else, and press login.

It might say something about a cache, just read the message, and press whichever one continues with the process.

Now it'll ask for a username and password.

Username: root
    Password: alpine